2015 from Scratch…. deja vu?

Last year I started with a post called “2014 from scratch”

I was extremely successful for the first 2.5 months, making bread every week from scratch, buying relatively nothing in a package, and cutting my grocery budget to around $250 for a family of 3 including diapers and garbage bags…!

Then I got put on Bed rest with my 2nd and all hell broke lose… we ate out… Lots… I bought easy pre-packaged everything… it was horrible. But if my family was going to eat while I was off my feet I needed to.

Then our daughter was born and we had 2 weeks of blissful newborn snuggles, and I had SO MUCH ENERGY after being so restricted and I baked up a storm!…

Then she started screaming…and screaming…and continued to scream till 12 weeks.

SO needless to say, I completed 2.5 months of what was supposed to be a 12 month challenge, so I’m back to it, to try again.

I’ve built an arsenal of ideas off Pintrest (check out my board here!)

I’ve already tested a few new recipes I’m going to post shortly, and I am So excited to try this again!

A few things I did learn last year though:

1) Bagels are 10x better made from scratch (and easy peasy)

2) Lots of make ahead recipes (especially breakfast wraps, and sandwiches etc..) need a toaster oven to remain “convenient” I tried microwaving so many things that ended up being so soggy… and really, who has time to turn on the oven in the morning when you are trying to run out the door! So I have a toaster oven en route from Amazon right now to make sure I’m best equipped this year for success!

3) Sometimes Pintrest sucks… many peoples ideas of “An amazing recipe” is NOT the same as mine… maybe I’m picky… but I can tell you that panko crusted zucchini (and a number of “amazing” recipes) are not worth the effort HA!

I hope you all have fun reading my posts and adding some great, staple recipes to your arsenal of meals!

Thanks for reading!

-A-

2 thoughts on “2015 from Scratch…. deja vu?

    • They were plain, but I did add grated cheddar cheese to the top of some when I baked them (and prefer that!) you could add spices if you wanted to, or add pretty much anything to the top of them.

      They turn out a lot less dense then a store bought bagel… which is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

